Late September Update

Having just returned from a week in Pennsylvania and New York, I was happy to discover that it had rained while I was away (and that those checking on my apartment were diligent at watering). Thus, the peppers are in bloom. At least, the hot peppers are; the sweet peppers are tiny and may or may not mature. I planted them as seedlings last February, and they still haven’t made any fruit, even though the plants themselves have more than quadrupled in size. I guess they’re just not ready yet, or else are expecting it to get hotter and drier again before Fall really sets in. I think plants know a lot more about seasons than modern/industrialized humans do—and probably a lot more about a lot of other things, too.

peppers-1

Leave a Reply

