Mary Oliver Interview

Here’s a cool podcast interview with poet Mary Oliver. It’s long, but a good listen, especially over some coffee on a Saturday morning. It’s a little “woo” in places, but overall it’s insightful. She talks about a rough childhood, and how walking in the woods saved her life.

In the interview they quote “I Go Down to the Shore”:

I go down to the shore in the morning
and depending on the hour the waves
are rolling in or moving out,
and I say, oh, I am miserable,
what shall—
what should I do? And the sea says
in its lovely voice:
Excuse me, I have work to do.

Lovely, isn’t it?

In my poems section I have included “Hawk,” which is also a goodie.

3 thoughts on “Mary Oliver Interview

  1. Mary Oliver”s words and poetry really resonate with me. I had a total ah ha moment when I read “Someone I loved once gave me a box full of darkness. It took me years to understand that this too, was a gift.” Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

