On Walking in Circles

I made it a point to walk the same path every day for thirty days, and while I didn’t do them consecutively, I did accomplish the goal, making my thirtieth trip around the path yesterday.

Here are my past reflections on the path, to catch you up:

Passer-by on a Path

I Plan on Walking in Circles

Path, Day 2

Path, Day 3

Path, Day 4

Path, Day 5

The heron

Path, Day 10

Path, Day 15

Path, Day 20

Path, Day 25

Path, Day 30

Of course everyone expects a neat little wrap-up, a “lessons learned from this experiment” type of post. But I’m not the sort of person to write what doesn’t need to be written. You can see from the pictures and writing that I came to know the path intimately, and that life teems even in small places if they’re just left alone, i.e. not “developed.”

The creek I circled, called Boggy Creek,  joins other creeks, including Walnut Creek, before eventually emptying into the Colorado River and then the Gulf of Mexico and then the Atlantic Ocean–on the way passing farms and houses and going under bridges and train tracks and highways and baseball fields, but it isn’t on google maps, or most maps I’ve seen.

I saw cardinals, bluejays, grackles, a heron (who I only saw twice and still think about often), lizards, cockroaches, snakes, bees, wasps, dogs, butterflies, dragonflies, moths, squirrels, tadpoles, minnows, and many other living beings on the path. Often I entered the path angry and came out on the other side calmed and pensive, and often I listened to birds chirp and sing and play out entire lives that most people ignore or deny even happens.

To write “and therefore, find your own path” would be cliché, but…

Leave a Reply

